قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Technology https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Apple bans group call in FaceTime in response to bugfixing bug – TechCrunch

Apple bans group call in FaceTime in response to bugfixing bug – TechCrunch



Apple disables the group call feature in its FaceTime call service while working on a patch to fix an unpleasant eavesdropping error.

The Apple Status page shows that the FaceTime group call is "temporarily unavailable" – this is an intermediate step until the company brings a more lasting solution to the problem this week. We could not set up a bulk call when we tried after we first made and replicated the problem.

All this is good, this solution means that users do not have to completely disable FaceTime due to a mistake, but it is understandable if some people hesitate to turn it on again.

The vulnerability is detected on Monday and activates when a user initiates a group call but is added as a participant, as we explained in our previous post: [1

9659005] The error is based on what seems to be a bad logic screwed into the system group call to FaceTime. Although the steps are not outlined here, the error seems to mislead the recipient's phone in the thought that the group call is already in progress. A few quick presses and FaceTime immediately transfer and inexplicably launch the recipient's microphone without actually accepting the call.

Even more strange: if the recipient clicks the volume down button or the power button to try to shut down or reject the call, their camera also turns on. Although the recipient's phone display continues to display the incoming calls screen, their microphone / camera is transferred.

Apple told other media that she was planning to issue a more durable solution in the coming days.

to this problem and we identified a fix that will be released in a software update later this week, "a spokesman said.

It's interesting to note that the bulk call function actually took longer than planned to arrive in iOS after hiccup, it was added then removed from the iOS 12 beta in August as it takes time to deploy to all users. The feature was not available when the iOS 12 was delivered to everyone in September and instead arrived with the release of iOS 12.1 in October. Apple never gave a reason for the delay.

Error is an embarrassing incident for Apple, which has long emphasized its focus on privacy as a business and within its products. This included a recent CES banner, which triumphantly announced: "What's happening on your iPhone stays on your iPhone."


Source link