If you’ve ever experienced annoying (and perhaps private) notifications from Chrome while sharing your screen, you’re in luck – Chrome will now mute the default notifications when it detects that you’re sharing your screen. It should hit all accounts soon, but you can activate it manually now if you want.

The function is very clear; it will simply hide the contents of incoming Chrome and Google Chat notifications if it appears while sharing your screen. Google has already muted notifications when sharing a tab in Google Meet, but this will now work no matter how you share your screen.

This is being introduced now and should reach virtually all G Suite users over the next three days. However, if you want to try it now, you can do it manually by activating it in flags (chrome: // flags / # mute-notifications-during-screen-share). Our local Chrome expert, Kent, activated this flag a long time ago and had no problems with it.