Home https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Sport https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers to the Hall of Fame newsletter

Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers to the Hall of Fame newsletter

NEW YORK – Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers to the 2020 Hall of Fame newsletter. He will likely be a superb choice to join former New York Yankees teammate Mariano Rivera in Cooperstown, after relief last year became the first unanimous choice by the American Baseball Writers Association of America.

A 14-time all-star short-lived five-time World Series champion, Jeter hits .310 with 3465 hits over 20 seasons and is the AL-Rookie of the Year since 1996. For the past two seasons, he has been the CEO of the Miami Marlins .

Other newcomers announced on Monday by the BBWAA include Cliff Lee, Josh Beckett, Jason Giambi, Paul Konerco, Rafael Fourcal, Bobby Abreu and Alfonso Soriano.

Holdings includes Kurt Schilling, who received 60.9% last year, Roger Clemens (59.5%), Barry Bonds (59.1

%) and Larry Walker (54.6%). Schilling rose 51.2% in 2018. Walker, who voted for the tenth and last time this year, increased 34.1% in 2018.

Bond and Clemens, whose applications were defiled by allegations of use of steroids are both on for the eighth time. Clemens grew by 57.3% in 2018 and bonds by 56.4%.

Newsletters are sent to more than 400 BBWAA members with at least 10 consecutive years in the organization, and a player must appear at least 75% in order to win an election. The newsletters are to be mailed by December 31st and results will be announced on January 21st.

Each Elector will be elected on July 26, along with all elections by the Hall of Modern Age Committee, which meets and votes in San Diego on December 8.

Players remain on the ballot for up to 10 years, provided they receive at least 5% of the votes annually.

Roy Chaladei, Edgar Martinez and Mike Musina were selected with Rivera in the 2019 BBWAA vote. Chone Figgins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Todd Helton, Raul Ibanez, Derek Jeter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Pena, Brad Penny, Andy Petit, J.J. J. Putz, Manny Ramirez, Brian Roberts, Scott Rolen, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Alfonso Soriano, Sammy Sosa, Jose Valverde, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Larry Walker

Source link