قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Science https://server7.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/sruj/smyrwpoii/p2/ Happy solstice, everyone! | Tonight

Happy solstice, everyone! | Tonight



<! –

->
                

Image at top: Oliver Nagy made this cool image between the June and December solstices in 2014. The camera was fixed to a single spot for the entire exposure time, and it continuously recorded the sun's path as glowing trails across the sky. The breaks and gaps between the lines are caused by clouds. Thanks, Oliver!

If you're in the Northern Hemisphere, the June solstice is your signal to celebrate summer. If you're in the Southern Hemisphere, winter starts at this solstice. This 201

9 June solstice takes place on June 21 at 15:54 UTC; translated UTC to your time. In North America and U.S. time zones, that's June 21 at 12:54 p.m. ADT, 11:54 am EDT, 10:54 am CDT, 9:54 am MDT, 8:54 am PDT, 7:54 am AKDT (Alaskan Daylight Time) and 5:54 am HAST (Hawaiian-Aleutian Standard Time). At the moment of this June 2019 solstice, it's sunrise for the Hawaiian Islands, and sunset in Middle East and Africa. It's noon in South America and midnight in eastern Asia. The solstice happens at the same time for all of us, everywhere on Earth; only our clocks and calendars are different

Keep reading for some quick info that will help you connect with nature at this June solstice 2019.

 Map of Earth with day and night sides, terminator in East Africa, Saudi Arabia , and Siberia.

Worldwide map via the US The Naval Observatory shows the day and night sides of Earth at the moment of the June solstice (June 21, 2019, at 15:54 UTC)

Solstice brings extremes of daylight and darkness Earth's orbit around the sun – and tilt on its axis – has brought us to a place in space where our world's Northern Hemisphere has its time of greatest daylight: its longest day and shortest night. Meanwhile, the June solstice brings the shortest day and the longest night south of the equator

The June solstice gives us the year's northernmost sunrise and northernmost sunset. The northernmost sunrise and sunset deliver the year's longest daylight to the Northern Hemisphere but the shortest period of daylight in the Southern Hemisphere. North of the Arctic Circle, the sun neither rises nor sets but stays above the horizon for 24 hours around the clock. (19459010) below the horizon for 24 hours

In the Northern Hemisphere, the noontime shadows are shorter at this solstice On this solstice, the sun takes its most northerly path across the sky for the year. It's the year's highest sun, seen from the Tropic of Cancer and all places north. So your noontime shadow is shortest.

In the Southern Hemisphere, the opposite is true. This solstice marks the lowest sun and the longest shadow of the noontime for those in the southern part of Earth's globe.

 View larger image | Nikolaos Pantazis wrote: "Every year, on the days around the summer solstice, the setting sun is aligned with that rock, near the village of Platanos, Peloponnese, Greece." </p>
</div>
<p><strong> Each solstice marks a "turning" of the year </strong> Even as this northern summer begins with the solstice, the solstice also represents a "turning" of the year. To many cultures, the solstice can mean a limit or a culmination of something. From around the world, the sun is now setting and rising as far north as it ever does. The solstice marks when the sun reaches its northernmost point for the year. After the June solstice, the sun will begin its subtle shift southward on the sky's dome again. </p>
<p> Thus, even in the summer's beginning, we find the seeds of the summer's end </p>
<p> <strong> Longest day for Northern Hemisphere </strong> The latest sunset does not come on the day of the summer solstice. Neither does the earliest sunrise. The exact dates vary with latitude, but the sequence is always the same: the early sunset before the summer solstice, the longest day on the summer solstice, the latest sunset after the summer solstice. </p>
<p> <strong> Shortest day for Southern Hemisphere, but not the latest sunrise </strong> The latest sunrise does not come on the day of the winter solstice. Neither does the earliest sunset. The exact dates vary with latitude, but the sequence is always the same: early sunset before the winter solstice, the shortest day on the winter solstice. [196590019] </p>
<div id= Brilliant light with rays shining through a tall tree against a blue sky with clouds

At very northerly latitudes now, the sun is up all night. Here is the sun at 3 a.m.

Bottom line: Some quick info that will help you connect with nature at the June solstice 2019!

Help support EarthSky! Check out the EarthSky store for fun

All you need to know: June solstice 2019


Source link