Automatic deletion of messages was now possible in Telegram’s encrypted secret chats, but this new update for iOS and Android adds the option to disappear messages in any type of chat. Automatic deletion can be activated in chats and set to delete either 24 hours or seven days after sending messages. However, automatic deletion will not remove every message; if the message is sent before the feature is turned on, it will stay around. Telegram̵
Telegram is also making changes to groups that can allow for instant, informative audio experiences that have become popular in the Clubhouse. The new Broadcast Groups allow an unlimited number of members, but restrict the creation of posts to group administrators so that they can broadcast. Voice chats, on the other hand, are open to anyone in a broadcast group, and Telegram believes the feature should be “ideal for large communities where people can follow and catch exclusive interviews, news or just casual conversations.”
To help these groups be exclusive (or grow them quickly), Telegram adds expiration invitation links that can be set to expire after a certain number of uses, a certain period of time, or both. With the new invitations, group administrators should be able to better moderate who joins and keep the private topic a little more private.
Many users left WhatsApp for Telegram for fear that Facebook would read their messages. Extending privacy features such as automatic deletion seems like a good way for Telegram to address these concerns. But even with new privacy options, Telegram still doesn’t offer the universal feature that many users expect – end-to-end encryption.
All messages in Telegram are technically coded, but Secret Chats are the only ones that are seen exclusively on the devices of the people involved. The difference is that Telegram says it activates features like the new broadcast groups, but even with automatic deletion, it can be a bargain for you.
You can see the full list of new features in the Telegram blog.